Nerd Alert! Harry Potter now available on Kindle!


Cover of "Kindle Wireless Reading Device,...

Cover via Amazon

So I have been waiting for this forever. I bought the very first Kindle for the very obscene price of $400 when it first came out. Curse of the early adopter.

The one thing that bugged me from the beginning, is the author of the Harry Potter books, JK Rowling, was always dead-set against ebooks.  Every interview she came off, in my opinion, as very pretentious,  saying that books should always be read in their proper format, paper, and she didn’t want her readers to lose out on that experience.

Frankly, I thought that was crap. Anybody who reads a book on a  proper eReader will tell you that it is very easy on the eyes, and with some minor differences from a paper book, is quite enjoyable. I can read for hours on my Kindle, and I also use the Kindle app to read on my smart phone as well.

Let’s not forget that ebooks are “E” friendly! It’s just a heck of a lot better for the environment, no matter how you slice it. I use cloth bags for my groceries, I use my bike for all travel and grocery trips, unless the distance is too long, or the load is too big (Note to self: must get on that Xtracycle project.) So I just thought it was ridiculous that she refused to enter the 21st Century. Thankfully, she changed her mind.

So now I can dork out and re-read the series! The best part is, that like reading all books on an eReader, that nobody will look strangely at the 50-year-old guy reading a kid’s book…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I heard its pretty expensive… i would rather have the physical book.

    Reply
    • Compared to the Hardcover’s, they are actually less expensive.

      I aleady have the hardcover versions. I am buying these for the convenience of being able to read them going to and from work on the train, and not having to carry the heavy book around. That is the whole idea of eBooks.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

