Curryneuring…or Coffeeneuring Control #5


Last weekend I was very busy and had no time for a coffeeneuring trip during the day. However, a friend and I had discussed going out for Indian food on our bikes that weekend and I thought that I could have coffee with my dinner, and hopefully that would still qualify under the rules.
We went to our mutual favorite place for Indian food, “Curry Up Now” which in downtown San Mateo, Ca. Even better for Coffeeneuring purposes, the logo incorporates a bike!
Curry Up Now started as food truck and the idea was to bring the taste of great Indian street food to the San Francisco Bay Are. The owner started with one truck in San Francisco, and quickly expanded to two. It didn’t take too long until they decided to open a brick-and-mortar operation. Luckily for me, that happened to be only 2.5 miles from my house! They are now in process of opening up a second restaurant in Palo Alto.
I discovered them initially in downtown San Francisco, which is where I work. One day as I was walking to lunch on Bush street and I saw this food truck with a line of 20 or 30 people leading up to it.
I saw it again a few days later, and then again. Thinking that it must be good to always have a long line like that, I walked closer. The smell of what appeared to be delicious Indian Food wafted toward me. That was enough for me, so I decided to try them out.
Turns out their specialty was a chicken tikka massala burrito. I had to wait almost 20 minutes to get it, but it was phenomenally delicious! How can you go wrong combining burritos with Indian food? You can’t!  After that I was hooked, and became a regular customer.
So Saturday night Sal and I set out for Curry Up Now. I rode my Surlyized bike and he rode his hybrid. We weren’t going far, and I had no fear locking this bike out front of a restaurant at night. I would not feel so comfortable with my Casseroll, along with SON generator hub and Edelux light (stay tuned for a post about that soon.)
Downtown San Mateo was really jumping. The majority of businesses are restaurants in this area, and a lot of people were going in and out them for dinner. The big theater multiplex is right there as well.
We locked up our bikes and went inside.
Sal had a deconstructed Samosa
 and I had a chicken tikka massala burrito and sexy fries (Criss-cross fries with chicken and curry sauce
To comply with the coffeeneuring rules, I ordered a Desi coffee, which is a special type of Indian coffee. I was only planning on giving it a token swig, but it was actually really good. Very sweet with cream. Not my usual taste, but a pleasant surprise.
After we finished, we loaded our stuffed selves back on our bikes and rode 2.5 miles or so home. It was a darn good meal!
I’ll have to go Curryneuring again!
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I had a laugh when I saw “sexy” fries.

    Reply
  2. I like the helmet!!

    Reply
    • @Dianne – I know! It cracked me up the first time I saw it on the menu too!
      I don’t know about sexy, but they are very tasty!

      @MG – Yep, you can’t miss me when I am going down the road with those visability stickers all over it…
      I mean, I hope they DO miss me… the cars I mean… ;)

      Reply
  3. The curry burrito is so good. I miss it so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

