Coffeeneuring Control #1


Big Blue in Front of Peets

I’ve been recovering from a bike accident last July, and only recently got back on the bike. I can’t handle any long distance yet, but am managing to commute at least, and am doing light shopping trips.

I really miss randonneuring, so when I saw that one of my favorite bloggers, MG from Chasing Mailboxes, was starting up her coffeeneuring challenge again this year, I had to do it!

I knew it would be a lot of fun, and I thought this would be a great way to get back, in spirit at least, to the concept of randonneuring.

The concept is simple: Go to seven different coffee shops by the middle of November, document your trip, and show proof you were there. It has to be on the weekend, and the minimum distance is two miles roundtrip.

“Big Blue,” my original commuter bike and cargo-bike in progress, inside of Peet’s.

For my first adventure, I went to my local Peet’s, the Bay Meadows location in San Mateo, CA. last Sunday 10/14/12,  a good two miles round trip, just at the mileage minimum. That distance would be easy enough on my hand.  In the spirit of the season, I had a pumpkin latte. Unbelievably delicious!

Pumpkin latte from Peet’s. Yumm!!

After finishing my drink, I headed over to Whole Foods and did a little shopping, then headed home. This was a great way to start a Sunday. Can’t wait for next weekend!

( I wonder, do I have to send in a signed receipt with my coffeeneuring brevet card?)

Yep, that ‘ol gray beard is me!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. welcome back on the bike! thanks for introducing me to coffeeneuring haha! i think our weekly saturday breakfast/coffee ride could evolve into a coffee rando ride :)

    Reply
  2. Thanks! It’s good to be back too. I think you should join in on the coffeenuring. Head over to MG’s blog page for details. Valuable prizes to be won! ;)

    Reply
  3. Dan

     /  October 18, 2012

    Great to see you are back at it again. Good luck!

    Reply
  4. missgeorgieo

     /  October 25, 2012

    Enjoy being back in the saddle. Hope the confidence picks up in no time.
    I came off mine in May. I got back on my second bike the next day (my other was mashed), for a short ride. But I’ve lost some confidence at high speeds which is remaining with me at the moment. I think the newly acquired tandem and having my other half in control will put that final issue to touch. Fingers crossed. Enjoy the coffeeees :-)

    Reply
  5. Just getting back riding is the key. You will feel better the more you do it. I’ll probably always be more nervous going alongside of parked cars now (I was doored) but I’m dealing with it. Glad your tandem partner is helping out!

    Get more coffee!

    Reply
  1. Bikes + Coffee = True Love = Coffeeneuring: Blog Roundup | chasing mailboxes d.c.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 135 other followers

