Ty:

Vik was kind enough to post this on his “Lazy Randonneur” blog. I thought this would be another good one of his to respost, while I am trying to figure all of this out!!

Originally posted on The Lazy Rando Blog...:

Ty and his trusty Specialized rando MTB...

Ty’s first Brevet, The Del Puerto Canyon 200K, or “Descent into Hell!”

“The day started out just fine. In fact, during the pre-ride introduction, Rob Hawks, the local SF Rando club president, introduced me as the newest member of the RUSA. as they had just processed my application last week. The whole group of 76 cheered and clapped. I thought it was a nice gesture, and I really appreciated it.

Left town and was quickly dropped of course since I was riding my under-geared 99 Specialized Hardrock mountain bike. I had done my best to make it suitable, by putting on Specialized Fatboy 216 x1.25 slick tires and fenders, but still very slow compared to the rest of the proper road bikes.

It started out with a slow climb out of Livermore. The descent was awesome! I was going so fast, that I thought “whew! I better slow down!”…

View original 1,297 more words

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. It Was a Dark and Stormy Populaire on my 51st Birthday! | The Crazy Randonneur

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

